Privacy

Show Me First is designed to help you take control of your privacy.

The Show Me First! information sharing preview tool is written in javascript, running in your browser. The information received from Facebook is displayed in your browser and neither sent to nor stored on our server, with one exception.

Facebook Connect uses cookies to track session details. That information is automatically sent to our server. We receive authentication information (session ID, access token, and signature) and your Facebook user ID.

We also use cookies to manage your permissions settings. This allows us to avoid maintaining a server-side user database with that information. By visiting our website, you send us information automatically, such as cookies, your IP address, your ISP, your browser type, and your operating system.

We log this information and use it to better understand how people use our website.

Other companies involved with Show Me First!

We use Google Analytics to track usage on our site and AddThis for easy sharing of the site, eg., via Twitter, email, and Digg. This tracking only occurs when you visit the site. We receive no information when the Show Me First! button simply appears in the Facebook Permission Request dialog.

We use Kynetx as a cross-browser extension to integrate into Safari, Chrome, and Firefox. Kynetx installs software on your computer and is capable of automatically monitoring and responding to activity in your browser such as visiting particular web pages. For Show Me First!, none of this information is logged or recorded. Visit Kynetx for more details.

Facebook, Google, AddThis and Kynetx may store cookies on your computer. Show Me First! has neither control nor access to the information captured by these cookies except as described here.

You may also disable Show Me First! by deleting it on your applications page at Facebook.

Is this Safe?

Show Me First! is a javascript application running in your browser. Our server never sees the information you share from Facebook. With the exception of your permissions and your Facebook user ID, your information never leaves your browser.

We never send any of your information to anyone.

Facebook Apps and Facebook Connect

Facebook Apps are applications that run within the Facebook website, such as We're Related, Movies, and Mafia Wars.

Facebook Connect is a service that allows Facebook users to log in to other websites—such as CNN, CBS.com, Digg, Yelp, and YouTube—using a Facebook login, but without revealing the password to the website. When you use Facebook Connect, you also give those websites permission to access your Facebook information and to use that information to customize their website for you.

Similar permissions are given to Facebook Applications when you use them. For simplicity's sake, when we refer to "websites", we also mean any Facebook Application.

If you want to see what websites you've given permissions to, visit your Facebook Application settings page.

Bottom line on Privacy

We never send personally identifiable information to anyone for any purpose. We will never sell, redistribute, or release this information for any reason unless legally required by court order from a court of competent jurisdiction.